Deer hearts on the double.

Standard

Beer Diary,

This week I was gone deer hunting with my brother and pops. I brought along some tasty brews to enjoy after each days hunt or to celebrate our kill. So I will be doing a couple beer reviews.  I wasn’t able to get a buck myself before I had to head home from school and work.  Today I did get a nice kick when I was down when I received a text from my brother with the picture of his buck.

I am not bitter or anything… ok  maybe a little jealous. Anyway to the BEER, first we had a Young’s Double Chocolate Stout. Kenyan the owner of the ranch we hunted on had popped up to our camp to say hello so we pulled out the four pack of the pint cans we had. It was just as I expected silky, creamy, dark and of course strong with chocolate.  It was a nice beer to share hunting stories and a few laughs over. Here is the beer advocate rating. I would recommend it to people that like their darks.

Next was Rogues Double Mocha Porter which we decided to crack open before dinner. Rogue says this porter goes with beef and dessert.  What was on the menu you ask? Well it was the heart and liver of the deer my pop shot that morning. I had never had heart or liver and I wasn’t real thrilled about it. I thought for sure I would be in the ice chest getting the stuff to make a sandwich.  Turns out deer heart taste a lot like steak and I went for seconds. Liver on the other hand tasted gamey and had an odd texture where it would crumble to a powder like substance that got stuck in my teeth.  It was rough but not as bad as I thought it would be.  So yeah the Mocha Porter was excellent more coffee tones then chocolate and it packed a punch in the ABV% I felt a fire in my belly. I would recommend it to people like their coffee spiked. Beer Advocate Rating.

It was fun trip and it was good to get away for a few days. One good thing about my brother filling his tag is we get to celebrate with The Stone Russian Stout chilling in my fridge. YEAH BUDDY.

Leave a Reply

